The museum today looks very much as it did during Alice Miner’s lifetime. A new copper roof was installed in 2002; this is the only major structural change that has been made to the building. There have been some cosmetic changes: most of the original wallpaper was removed sometime in the 1950s or 60s, leaving only the ballroom with the original wall treatment from 1924. The midcentury wallpaper is gradually being phased out in favor of painted walls. The rugs and light fixtures are original pieces purchased by Alice Miner at Marshall Field’s department store in Chicago.
Over the years, director/curators have made some changes to the arrangement of furniture and other pieces, but the contents of each room are more or less the same as they were in Alice’s day. The museum thus provides a unique window into the Colonial Revival aesthetic of the early 20th century.
The Alice T. Miner Museum was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 2010.
Image at top: The Alice T. Miner Museum as it appears today